top of page
Search
  • jennieb

Song of the Week - "Treasure of My Heart" - Spanish Fly


The other day I'm in a store and this song comes over the speaker and instantly I'm back in time at a high school dance in the hot California central valley. I don't know the song, but I recognize the music, and if you know freestyle then you know what I mean. Freestyle used to be everywhere - Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam, Stevie B, it got mainstream play with Exposé on the radio and Pretty Poison's "Catch Me I'm Falling" on the Hiding Out soundtrack, it had a claim to fame by being one of Dr. Dre's first producing credits on one of my personal favorite tracks, "The Fly" by World Class Wrecking Cru, and on one of my favorite 80s ostensibly electronic records (Information Society) the song "Running," especially the Nest remix, was freestyle. It was a movement given to us by Afrika Bombaataa and the Bronx at a special time in history (I don't know if my friend who grew up in the Bronx in the 80s would call it special the way I mean it), and I'm grateful it made its way across the country to my little high school gym so that my teenage self could dance those sweaty nights away. Listen here. See a 100 Greatest Freestyle Dance Songs list here.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page